AWS Certified SysOps Administrator

Associate Level. Exam Blueprint

The AWS Certified SysOps Administrator – Associate Level exam validates a candidate’s ability to:
•    Deliver the stability and scalability needed by a business on AWS
•    Provision systems, services and deployment automation on AWS
•    Ensure data integrity and data security on AWS technology
•    Provide guidance on AWS best practices
•    Understand and monitor metrics on AWS

The basic knowledge and skills required at this level should include all of the following areas and objective components below.

AWS Knowledge
•    Minimum of one year hands-on experience with the AWS platform
•    Professional experience managing/operating production systems on AWS
•    A firm grasp of the seven AWS tenets – architecting for the cloud
•    Hands on experience with the AWS CLI and SDKs/API tools
•    Understanding of network technologies as they relate to AWS
•    Good grasp of fundamental Security concepts with hands on in experience in implementing Security controls and compliance requirements

General IT Knowledge
•    1-2 years’ experience as a systems administrator in a systems operations role
•    Experience understanding virtualization technology
•    Monitoring and auditing systems experience
•    Knowledge of networking concepts (DNS, TCP/IP, and Firewalls)
•    Ability to collaborate with developers and the general business team/company wide

These training courses or other equivalent methodologies will assist in exam preparation:
•    SysOps on AWS (
•    AWS Cloud Computing Whitepapers (
o    Overview of Security Processes
o    Storage Options in the Cloud
o    Defining Fault Tolerant Applications in the AWS Cloud
o    Overview of Amazon Web Services
o    Compliance Whitepaper
o    Architecting for the AWS Cloud
•    AWS Documentation (

Note: This examination blueprint includes weighting, test objectives, and example content. Example topics and concepts are included to clarify the test objectives. They should not be construed as a comprehensive listing of all of the content of this examination.

The table below lists the domains measured by this examination and the extent to which they are represented.
Domain    % of Examination
1.0 Monitoring and Metrics    15%
2.0 High Availability    15%
3.0 Analysis    15%
4.0 Deployment and Provisioning    15%
5.0 Data Management    12%
6.0 Security    15%
7.0 Networking    13%
TOTAL    100%

Response Limits
The examinee selects from four (4) or more response options the option(s) that best completes the statement or answers the question. Distracters or wrong answers are response options that examinees with incomplete knowledge or skill would likely choose, but are generally plausible responses fitting into the content area defined by the test objective.

Test item formats used in this examination are:
•    Multiple-choice: examinee selects one option that best answers the question or completes a statement. The option can be embedded in a graphic where the examinee “points and clicks” on their selection choice to complete the test item.
•    Multiple-response: examinee selects more than one option that best answers the question or completes a statement.
•    Sample Directions: Read the statement or question and from the response options, select only the option(s) that represent the most correct or best answer(s) given the information.
Content Limits

1    Domain 1.0: Monitoring and Metrics
1.1    Demonstrate ability to monitor availability and performance
1.2    Demonstrate ability to monitor and manage billing and cost optimization processes

2    Domain 2.0: High Availability
2.1    Implement scalability and elasticity based on scenario
2.2    Ensure level of fault tolerance based on business needs

3    Domain 3.0: Analysis
3.1    Optimize the environment to ensure maximum performance
3.2    Identify performance bottlenecks and implement remedies
3.3    Identify potential issues on a given application deployment

4    Domain 4.0: Deployment and Provisioning
4.1    Demonstrate the ability to build the environment to conform with the architected design
4.2    Demonstrate the ability to provision cloud resources and manage implementation automation

5    Domain 5.0: Data Management
5.1    Demonstrate ability to create backups for different services
5.2    Demonstrate ability to enforce compliance requirements
5.3    Manage backup and disaster recovery processes

6    Domain 6.0: Security
6.1    Implement and manage security policies
6.2    Ensure data integrity and access controls when using the AWS platform
6.3    Demonstrate understanding of the shared responsibility model
6.4    Demonstrate ability to prepare for security assessment use of AWS

7    Domain 7.0: Networking
7.1    Demonstrate ability to implement networking features of AWS
7.2    Demonstrate ability to implement connectivity features of AWS

Course Reviews - 0

Submit Reviews

Select Course Pricing Package

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive all our updates!